Lonely Independence

Hey everyone!

Today I put myself out there and ate breakfast at Cracker Barrel all my myself; it was the oddest and most lovely experience ever. 

As mentioned in an earlier blog post, I simply do not go places alone. Or at least I didn’t in the past. But today I realized something very liberating. I should not have to depend on someone else wanting the same breakfast at the same time that I do. If I want some good ole biscuits and gravy from Cracker Barrel on this random March Tuesday morning, then why the heck shouldn’t I get it?!? 

And it was weird. It was weird telling the hostess yes, I need a table for only one. It was weird sitting there alone as I waited for my food. But I realized that although I was the only one at my table, I was not alone in the sense that there were others also sitting by themselves as well. 

But more than being a weird experience, it was a freeing one. It was nice and enjoyable in its own weird way. It was calming. I had no obligations to carry on conversations or to put my phone down or anything. I was simply there to enjoy my own breakfast and my own company and my own thoughts. And through this I discovered a new sense of independence

So go and enjoy your random March Tuesday morning and do whatever your heart desires. And realize that although it may be weird, you don’t need others to have a lovely time. You just need a good attitude. 

AlèMae 

 

Leave a comment