Watering Flowers

Today was one of the days that I could have cried because my students are so incredibly precious.

Way back during week one of school, I showed off all of the plants in my classroom to my second graders, explaining to them that they will be able to water them when needed. More than that, I used this illustration with them:

These plants are all different and unique. My cacti do not need much water at all- I can water them on Mondays and they would be fine for the rest of the week! But some of the other flowers need more water. Different plants need more sunlight than others too! But no matter what the plants need, I give it to them because I want my plants to grow and be beautiful and to blossom.

The same is with you! All of you are like little flowers; some require a little bit of water, and others need all of the water you can get. I can give some students ten different math activities and they would be able to do all ten without ever asking for help- and that is great because it will help them grow. Others will need help getting through every math activity, and that is great too because you will be learning every step of the way! But no matter which type of student you are, it is my job to give you what you need. I will help you when you need help because I am you teacher, just like I water the flowers when they need water. And just like my plants, each of you will grow and grow and become more and more beautiful everyday.

Pretty clever right? I thought so… The best part is that when I am helping a student and the class starts to get out of control, I do not have to say “Please be quiet while I help this student…” Rather, I simply tell the class “Guys, I am watering a flower right now,” and they just know! They quiet down immediately!

So what is it about all this that nearly brought me to tears? Today I looked up to see one little second grade girl helping a boy who has been falling behind. It was not even class time, rather, it was time typically spent coding on our chromebooks. But my students know to make up any missed assignments or homework before logging into their computers, and one student VOLUNTEERED her laptop time to assist another student with his makeup work. I had no idea what was even happening until it was almost over! I heard a couple of students counting by tens, and looked up to see her hovering over his shoulder as he corrected problems that he previously had missed. She was not giving answers or doing the work for him, but she was the water and sunlight that he needed in that moment. I winked at her as she continued to help him through his math strategies.

After he turned in the assignment and logged into his laptop, she came to my desk and said “Ms. Simmons, I water a flower this morning!”

Yeah you did baby… You watered two.

1 thought on “Watering Flowers

Leave a comment